Friday, June 13, 2014

Penn State Presidents: Leaders, Innovators and Visionaries

President Atherton in his study

“Penn State Presidents: Leaders, Innovators and Visionaries,” an exhibit, is on display from June 2 through Sept. 15 in Robb Hall, Hintz Alumni Center, University Park.

From the earliest days of Evan Pugh’s tenure as president of the fledgling Agricultural College of Pennsylvania through the pioneering days of the newly appointed President Eric Barron, Penn State’s presidents have been challenged to envision a future featuring academic excellence, superior research, outstanding service to the community and superb opportunities for the institution’s student body.

The presidents highlighted in this exhibit provided vision during difficult times, and innovation across decades, and they led the institution toward new heights of achievements. (Read more about visionary presidents of Penn State.)

The exhibit, curated by the Penn State University Archives, features photographs, document reproductions and biographical statements for all 18 presidents and the three designated as acting presidents:

Evan Pugh, 1859–1864
William Henry Allen, 1864–1866
John Fraser, 1866–1868
Thomas Henry Burrowes, 1868–1871
James Calder, 1871–1880
Joseph Shortlidge, 1880–1881
James McKee, 1881–1882 Acting
George Atherton, 1882–1906
James Beaver, 1906–1908 Acting
Edwin Erle Sparks, 1908–1920
John Martin Thomas, 1921–1925
Ralph Dorn Hetzel, 1927–1947
James Milholland, 1847–1950 Acting
Milton Eisenhower, 1950–1956
Eric Walker, 1956–1970
John Oswald, 1970–1983
Bryce Jordan, 1983–1990
Joab Thomas, 1990–1995
Graham Spanier, 1995–2011
Rodney Erickson, 2011–2014
Eric Barron, 2014

For more information or if you anticipate needing accessibility accommodations or have questions about the physical access provided, please contact Jackie R. Esposito, University Archivist, at or 814-863-3791.

Can't make it to campus? See our Flickr gallery of the exhibit here!

No comments:

Post a Comment